Tuesday, February 3, 2015

Amiina Kurr 2007 debut album - Deluxe Double LP 200g Vinyl + Bonus Track

Best known for a decade recording and performing live with Sigur Rós, Amiina was formed in the late 90's as a quartet of girls from Reykjavík College of Music to explore delicate sounds with strings and subtle electronica, setting the tone for very deep and sensorial Icelandic music experience. Amiina's debut album, Kurr flows in a strange, powerful place between sophistication and innocence.

  • Double LP
  • DMM Direct Metal Mastering cut
  • 200 Grams Vinyl
  • Bonus track: "Hilli (At The Top Of The World)", the last recording of Lee Hazlewood

Originally a string quartet formed by four girls (Edda Rún Ólafsdóttir, Hildur Ársælsdóttir, María Huld Markan Sigfúsdóttir and Sólrún Sumarliðadóttir) at the Reykjavík College of Music in the late 1990s, amiina went on to cut its teeth as Sigur Rós' string section for the next decade.

In 1999 the quartet joined Icelandic band Sigur Rós on stage. The collaboration has continued ever since with amiina contributing strings to Sigur Rós’ music on tours and in the recording studio on the albums ( ) , Takk and Með Suð... In 2004 amiina’s first EP AnimaminA was released, followed by the Seoul single (2006), the album Kurr (2007), a Lee Hazlewood collaboration on a 7” vinyl Hilli (at the Top of...) (2008) and the limited release EP Re Minore (2009).

Amiina's debut album, Kurr (2007), was performed on a disparate jumble of instruments – musical saws, kalimbas, music boxes and seemingly anything that could be plucked, bowed or beaten on – resulting in a work that ebbed and flowed “in a strange, powerful place between sophistication and innocence,” according to The Guardian.

Cover by Egill Kalevi Karlsson. Mastered by Graeme Durham (Founding member and mastering engineer at The Exchange, London). Recorded by Eimmur Hákonarson, Kjartan Sveinsson, Mads Christian Brauer. Mixed by Birgir Jón Birgisson.

DMM reissue of Amiina’s Kurr, featuring the bonus track: "Hilli (At The Top Of The World)", the last ever recording of the legendary songwriter and producer Lee Hazlewood. Originally released in June 2007, this is the first ever vinyl issue of the album and comes in Deluxe 200g vinyl.

Track Listing:

01. Sogg
02. Rugla
03. Glmur
04. Seoul
05. Lpna
06. Hilli
07. Sexfaldur
08. Kolapot
09. Saga
10. Lri
11. Blfeldur
12. Boga
13. Hilli (At the Top of the World) featuring Lee Hazlewood

Available on Vinyl Gourmet Store:

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.